Cherry Soup

Pict1653

I’ve been rather under the weather the past month, and just didn’t
feel up to making my usual for Thanksgiving. My usual has always,
always, ALWAYS included several pies. This is the first year since I
learned how to make pies that I did not insist on making at least one
tart cherry and one pumpkin pie. My mother can’t remember a time when
I haven’t made pies, unless you go back to when I was a wee thing.

I did make the Moosewood Chilean Squash, which is a quick mix of
ingredients and about a half hour in the over. Not enough. I offered
to make my famous Cherry Soup as a substitute for the cherry pie. My
daughter said NO firmly and repeatedly (probably trying to spare me
the energy of cooking compulsively), but I knew my other friends would
gladly test some of my more unusual creations, and that cherry pie
would be safe to bring there.

I dug out the original cherry soup recipe I created when I was in
college. I didn’t have the right kind of ingredients so modified that.
I also had a few places to visit, so made a triple batch, thinking I
would have some leftover for just me. Another thing I did different
this time (as you can see) is to can the result in jars. Partly this
was to make it easier to cart around to various potlucks, but it
worked so well I will definitely be making more and canning that just
to have available whenever I crave a good dose of cherry warmth.

Here is that original recipe.

(1)
CHERRY SOUP (ORIGINAL)
by PF Anderson

32 ounces tart cherries, canned
Drain canned cherries. Reserve liquid to 2 cups, separate fruit
into a bowl on the side.

1 cup dry red wine
2/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoons amaretto
pinch salt
1 cinnamon stick
Still holding back the fruit, mix the liquid ingredients with
cinnamon, sugar, and salt, and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer.

2 tablespoons cornstarch
In a small bowl, mix the cornstarch with the hot liquid adding
one tablespoonful at a time until it reaches a thin creamy
consistency. DO NOT add more hot liquid at a single time or the result
will be lumpy. Raise heat again and bring to a boil once more. Boil
until clear and smooth. Add fruit, and bring to a boil a third time.

Serve warm in a small tea or coffee cup. Optional garnish of a
cinnamon stick and whipped cream.

(2)
CHERRY SOUP (2010 Version)
by PF Anderson

1 quart tart cherry juice*
3 cup dry red wine
2 cups sugar
1-2 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cinnamon stick
Mix the liquid ingredients with cinnamon, sugar, and salt, and
bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer.

6 tablespoons cornstarch
In a small bowl, mix the cornstarch with the hot liquid adding
two tablespoonfuls at a time until it reaches a thin creamy
consistency. DO NOT add more hot liquid at a single time or the result
will be lumpy. Raise heat again and bring to a boil once more. Boil
until clear and smooth.

32 ounces tart cherries, frozen (or 6 cups, loosely packed)
Add fruit, and bring to a boil a third time. If canning, boil for
three minutes before putting in jars.

Serve warm in a small tea or coffee cup. Optional garnish of a
cinnamon stick and whipped cream.

* (Knudsen’s works well and is available at Whole Foods)

When I canned it, I, well, uh, um, I actually was too tired to make
this (my daughter was right) and I spilled HALF of it all over the
stove. My son said, “Mom, you should not try to cook when you are
tired.” I still ended up with almost two full quarts. However, I don’t
know for sure exactly how much this makes.

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cherry Soup

  1. PF Anderson says:

    Oh! Yes, I should have said OF COURSE you can use fresh cherries. 🙂 I have cherry trees in my backyard myself. For using the frozen ones, I just measured out 6 cups … Convenient, yes.

  2. PF Anderson says:

    LOL! I don’t know where “out here” is, but I’m in Michigan, which could be nicknamed ‘The Cherry State’. I’ll take cherries just about any way I can find them, and am lucky that Gordon Food Service carries five pound bags pre-pitted frozen for those midwinter blues. I also stockpile canned, and keep a stash of dried, all for when they are out of season. My trees don’t fruit for very long. There is a peak of about a week, sometimes two, but not much time to try to get them.

  3. bruce says:

    Thanks for posting this

  4. PF Anderson says:

    My pleasure. 🙂 I had a lot of requests for it after the weekend.

  5. PF Anderson says:

    I agree completely! Fresh fruit IS a serious business!

Leave a Reply

