Quinoa Mango Coconut Salad

Pict0631

It’s smackdab the middle of the summer. Real summer, hot weather, cool meals. Minimal cooking. Light meals. Fresh produce whenever possible. This little delight fits all the criteria. It’s just me here to eat this stuff, so I didn’t make much. 

(1) 
I’ve made this a couple times now. Here is what I did today.

3/4 C mixed red & white quinoa
1 3/4 C water
1/2 teaspoon salt

Bring to a boil, turn heat immediately to low, simmer for 20 minutes. Turn off heat. Alternatively, I’ve other times brought to a boil, simmered for 10 minutes, and then let it sit for a few hours to finish cooking. That saves energy and works just as well. 

Mix in:

1/4 C Maggi coconut milk powder
2 tablespoons honey

Let sit about ten minutes. Skin, slice, and chop 2 mangoes. Mix chunks in with the quinoa. 

Today, I served this with slices of cheese on the side as my lunch. 

(2)
Here is what I did the first time I made it. 

.5C Quinoa cooked in 1C H2O, 1C coconut milk, 
1 8oz mandarin oranges,
1C chopped mango. 
Topped with pan-seared sausage chunks

Pic of the day - Delicious

Personally, I like it with the sausage on it best, but didn’t want to cook that much heat today. 

Optional garnish? Dust the top with chopped coconut and arrange orange or mango slices.

Updated April 30, 2012.
I seem to make this different everytime I do it. What I did today was in the rice cooker.

1C quinoa
1C water
1C coconut milk
1t salt
1/8C brown sugar
1/8C white sugar

Then chopped the mango as below and mixed it in. That’s it!

Pic of the day - Making Mango Sweet "Rice" for Breakfast

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Fruit, Gluten Free, Quinoa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quinoa Mango Coconut Salad

  1. Heather Stevenson says:
  2. Heather Stevenson says:

    Thank you for sharing this…saw the link on your Facebook page. I am not sure what coconut milk powder is or if I can even get it here but if I can’t, will improvise. Both versions look great! As you know, I have become quite a fan of quinoa! Have been serving it to friends and family too and they love it.

  3. PF Anderson says:

    You can buy Maggi via Amazon if you can’t find it locally (but because of shipping, it is a lot cheaper if you can find it nearby!)

  4. Heather Stevenson says:

    Thanks, I got your link on Fb but will look around here first, might check bulk food stores too..

  5. Sarah says:

    This looks so good! I am definitely trying it for my next round of lunches.

    • pfanderson says:

      I find this is one I come back to a lot. I made a variation this morning – made a mango coconut custard with quinoa. I should probably write this down, too, LOL!

Leave a Reply

