Stovetop Quinoa Breakfast Custard

2 large eggs, beaten
3 T maple syrup
1/2 t gr cinnamon
1/4 t salt (opt)
1 C milk
1 & 1/2 C cooked quinoa

Mix all.

My oven is busted so I ‘baked’ this in a large fry pan on the stovetop. I started by putting a pat of butter in the pan and heating it until lightly brown. Then I poured in the custard mixture.

I had it on medium heat without a lid for 6 minutes, no stirring, but I did move the pan around so the bubbling was happening in different places. Then I turned the heat down to low, covered with a lid, for another 3 minutes. Leave the lid on with heat turned off for another 3-6 minutes, until the center will only jiggle slightly when the pan handle is wiggled. As you can see, I got a firm enough set to quarter it and serve as whole pieces! Serves 4.

Photo

Sent from my iPhone

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Quinoa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stovetop Quinoa Breakfast Custard

  1. Jenn Forager says:

    Num!

Leave a Reply

