Pic of the Day – Quinoa Coconut Milk Custard

Yesterday, as part of cleaning out the basement more, I found in the pantry a box of coconut milk beverage that had just expired. I was looking for a way to use it up fast, and after a surprising amount of time spent on research, this is what I came up with. It tastes a lit like rice pudding, at least when warm, and I like rice pudding.

Photo

QUINOA COCONUT MILK CUSTARD

3 cups coconut milk beverage
6 large eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla paste
1/2 teaspoon salt
1teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar

Beat together with whisk. Add:

1 white quinoa, cooked in
2 1/2 cups water
1 teaspoon salt

I used a rice cooker for the quinoa while I was mixing the other ingredients. This made way too much, 12-14 portions, so this is what I did. I put two pints of the UNCOOKED liquid custard in two jars and froze them. The idea is that after I thaw them, I’ll beat them with the whisk again and then bake them. I’ll let you know if it works. Meanwhile, with what was left, I filled 6 ramekins and baked them at 325F in a convection oven for 50 minutes. Before baking, The ramekins were placed in a cake pan with an inch of water. I ate one for breakfast, and a second one for lunch. 😉
Sent from my iPhone

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Quinoa and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

