Leftover Oatmeal Custard

I am always ending up with leftover oatmeal when my kid decides he just can’t face eating it after all. I hate throwing it out, but I also am not a huge fan of eating it cold. I keep coming up with recipes to use it up.

I used to love these oatmeal cinnamon muffins, but since I’ve gone gluten free I haven’t gotten competent enough at the new rules for baking to trust myself to adapt a recipe I struggled to get right in the first place. Also because of the gluten free change, I’m now using steelcut oats instead of rolled oats. Hiller’s grocery carries Irish oatmeal (which is gluten free and uncontaminated) but not as rolled oats, only as steelcut. So now my leftover oatmeal is a completely different kind that I’m not used to working with. Here is what I’ve come up with that I like.

LEFTOVER OATMEAL CUSTARD

1 cup cooked steelcut oatmeal with raisins
1/4 cup raisins
1 large tart apple, chopped medium
3 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
Pinch salt

40 minutes at 350F in a 8-inch cake pan that was pre-buttered.

Photo

Sent from my iPhone

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

