Simple Ham Soup

Simple Ham Soup

This was so easy I don’t feel right even thinking of it as a recipe.

I’d been boiling the ham hock since Easter. I’d put it in the smallest pan it would fit in, covered it with water, brought it to a boil each night, put the lid on, and simmered it until bedtime. Then I’d repeat the whole scenario each night.

Of course, we’d carved the ham so that there was a generous amount of meat left on the bone. Last night the meat started to come loose, so I knew tonight would be soup night.

Came home (HOURS late!), transferred the ham hock and liquid to a larger pan, probably one that holds about two quarts. Cleaned all the meat off the bone, cleaned the marrow out of the bone, threw both into the soup liquid and threw the bone into the trash. Then I turned the heat on medium under the pot.

Believe it or not, that was the hard part. Next, I drained the liquid from a 15-oz can of kidney beans, put the beans in the soup. I chopped a large leek, keeping the white and green separate. The white went in the pot right away.

While that came to a simmer, I went hunting in the freezer for mushrooms. I often will buy lots of mushrooms at once, sautée them right away in a bit of butter, put the lid on for the end, and then freeze the mushrooms and juice until I need them. The pack I grabbed would have been about four ounces of mushrooms before cooking.

Tossed the frozen mushrooms into the soup, and brought it all to bubbling again. When it was bubbling, I finally tossed in the chopped leek greens. I put the lid on right away, reduced the heat to low, and set the timer to five minutes.

I canned two pints, and ate one pint for dinner. You might be thinking, but what about spices? Well, that was what I thought, until I tasted it. It didn’t need a thing. I’d have put potato in if I had some. I thought about a bit of rice. Someone suggested a pinch of cumin, and some one else suggested dill. As things turned out, I ate it just the way it was.

INGREDIENTS

1 ham hock with ham
1 leek, large, chopped
1 15-oz can kidney beans, drained
4-oz mushrooms, sliced & sautéed

That’s it! It was ready for eating an hour after I got home.

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

