ZuCaLe Bread

I’ve been asked for this recipe. Finding the recipe is a challenge. ZuCaLe (pronounced zoo-kale) used to be my favorite spice bread … until I discovered I was allergic to zucchini. That was about 35 years ago, and I haven’t made it since. So, I went back and dug through my old cookbooks and recipe files, and sorted and cleaned and organized my old recipes. But I couldn’t find it. So, what I’ve done here is to try to reconstruct the recipe based on what I remember, and knowing my own patterns for how I tend to adapt recipes. I remember the first time I made this up, I was trying to follow a recipe for carrot bread, and didn’t have enough carrots, so substituted zucchini, and threw in the lemon because I love lemon. I found that including the lemon rind made the whole thing so zesty and bubbly it was just sparkling in my mouth. A confession — sometimes I didn’t chop the nuts, but just tossed in whole walnut halves.

Now, I can’t actually test this out now to make sure this works, since now I am gluten-free, and I am not sure this recipe would survive the translation. It was a dense flavorful bread, rather moist. Also, it would take me so long to test it multiple times to get it right that I don’t think folk want to wait that long.

NOTE: I think this might work well as a bundt cake or muffins.

ZUCALE BREAD RECIPE

Makes 2 loaves

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup soy flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon each allspice & nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
3 eggs
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 cups total of a mix of grated zucchini and grated carrot
1 small or medium lemon, grated, complete with rind (remove seeds)
1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Grease and flour two 8 x 5 inch pans.
3. Sift together all flours, salt, baking powder, soda, allspice, and cinnamon.
4. Beat eggs, oil, and sugar together in a large bowl.
5. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well.
6. Stir in grated zucchini, carrots and lemons until well combined.
7. Add nuts. Fold in gently.
8. Pour batter into prepared pans. Let rest in pan for 5 minutes before placing in oven.
9. Bake for 40 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted an inch away from the center comes out with only crumbs or clean (and no streaks of raw batter).
10. Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.

About pfanderson

Single mom, emerging technologies librarian, e-health, EBHC, informatics, search engines, social media, MODERATE, ♫, quilts/yarn/origami, food, iaido. SL: Perplexity Peccable
This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

